Skip to main content

Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Advanced Search

The Timestreams platform: artist mediated participatory sensing for environmental discourse

Blum, Jesse; Flintham, Martin; Jacobs, Rachel; Shipp, Victoria; Kefalidou, Genovefa; Brown, Michael; McAuley, Derek

Authors

Jesse Blum jesse.blum@nottingham.ac.uk

Martin Flintham martin.flintham@nottingham.ac.uk

Rachel Jacobs rachel.jacobs@nottingham.ac.uk

Victoria Shipp victoria.shipp@nottingham.ac.uk

Genovefa Kefalidou genovefa.kefalidou@nottingham.ac.uk

Michael Brown michael.brown@nottingham.ac.uk

Derek McAuley drm@cs.nott.ac.uk



Abstract

Ubiquitous and pervasive computing techniques have been used to inform discourses around climate change and energy insecurity, traditionally through data capture and representation for scientists, policy makers and the public. Research into re-engaging the public with sustainability and climate change issues reveals the significance of emotional and personal engagement alongside locally meaningful, globally-relevant and data-informed climate messaging for the public. New ubiquitous and pervasive computing techniques are emerging to support the next generation of climate change stakeholders, including artists, community practitioners, educators and data hackers, to create scientific data responsive artworks and performances. Grounded in our experiences of community based artistic interventions, we explore the design and deployments of the Timestreams platform, demonstrating usages of ubiquitous and pervasive computing within these new forms of discourse around climate change and energy insecurity.

Publication Date Sep 1, 2013
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
APA6 Citation Blum, J., Flintham, M., Jacobs, R., Shipp, V., Kefalidou, G., Brown, M., & McAuley, D. (2013). The Timestreams platform: artist mediated participatory sensing for environmental discourse
Keywords ubiquitous computing, artistic engagement, climate change
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf
Additional Information Due to appear in: : UbiComp '13: the proceedings of the 2013 ACM International Joint Conference on Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing Proceedings. ACM. http://dl.acm.org/

Files

ubicomp2013-timestreams-camera.pdf (833 Kb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;