Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Automated multimodal spectral histopathology for quantitative diagnosis of residual tumour during basal cell carcinoma surgery

Boitor, Radu; Kong, Kenny; Shipp, Dustin; Varma, Sandeep; Koloydenko, Alexey; Kusum, Kulkarni; Elsheikh, Somaia; Bakker Schut, Tom; Caspers, Peter; Puppels, Gerwin; Wolf, Martin van der; Sokolova, Elena; Nijsten, T.E.C.; Salence, Brogan; Williams, Hywel C.; Ioan, Notingher

Authors

Radu Boitor radu.boitor@nottingham.ac.uk

Kenny Kong kenny.kong@facemodata.co.uk

Dustin Shipp dustin.shipp@nottingham.ac.uk

Sandeep Varma sandeep.varma@nuh.nhs.uk

Alexey Koloydenko alexey.koloydenko@rhul.ac.uk

Kulkarni Kusum kusum.kulkarni@nuh.nhs.uk

Somaia Elsheikh somaia.elsheikh@nuh.nhs.uk

Tom Bakker Schut tbakkerschut@riverd.com

Peter Caspers p.caspers@erasmusmc.nl

Gerwin Puppels gpuppels@riverd.com

Martin van der Wolf Mvdwolf@riverd.com

Elena Sokolova esokolova@riverd.com

T.E.C. Nijsten t.nijsten@erasmusmc.nl

Brogan Salence brogansalence@gmail.com

Hywel C. Williams hywel.williams@nottingham.ac.uk

Notingher Ioan ioan.notinhger@nottingham.ac.uk



Abstract

Multimodal spectral histopathology (MSH), an optical technique combining tissue auto-fluorescence (AF) imaging and Raman micro-spectroscopy (RMS), was previously proposed for detection of residual basal cell carcinoma (BCC) at the surface of surgically-resected skin tissue. Here we report the development of a fully-automated prototype instrument based on MSH designed to be used in the clinic and operated by a non-specialist spectroscopy user. The algorithms for the AF image processing and Raman spectroscopy classification had been first optimised on a manually-operated laboratory instrument and then validated on the automated prototype using skin samples from independent patients. We present results on a range of skin samples excised during Mohs micrographic surgery, and demonstrate consistent diagnosis obtained in repeat test measurement, in agreement with the reference histopathology diagnosis. We also show that the prototype instrument can be operated by clinical users (a skin surgeon and a core medical trainee, after only 1-8 hours of training) to obtain consistent results in agreement with histopathology. The development of the new automated prototype and demonstration of inter-instrument transferability of the diagnosis models are important steps on the clinical translation path: it allows the testing of the MSH technology in a relevant clinical environment in order to evaluate its performance on a sufficiently large number of patients.

Journal Article Type Article
Journal Biomedical Optics Express
Electronic ISSN 2156-7085
Publisher Optical Society of America
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 8
Issue 12
APA6 Citation Boitor, R., Kong, K., Shipp, D., Varma, S., Koloydenko, A., Kusum, K., …Ioan, N. (in press). Automated multimodal spectral histopathology for quantitative diagnosis of residual tumour during basal cell carcinoma surgery. Biomedical Optics Express, 8(12), https://doi.org/10.1364/BOE.8.005749
DOI https://doi.org/10.1364/BOE.8.005749
Publisher URL https://www.osapublishing.org/boe/abstract.cfm?uri=boe-8-12-5749
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0

Files

boe-8-12-5749.pdf (8.1 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;