Skip to main content

Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Advanced Search

Theory and numerical modelling of parity-time symmetric structures in photonics: introduction and grating structures in one dimension

Phang, Sendy; Benson, Trevor M.; Susanto, Hadi; Creagh, Stephen C.; Gradoni, Gabriele; Sewell, Phillip D.; Vukovic, Ana

Authors

Sendy Phang sendy.phang@nottingham.ac.uk

Trevor M. Benson trevor.benson@nottingham.ac.uk

Hadi Susanto

Stephen C. Creagh stephen.creagh@nottingham.ac.uk

Gabriele Gradoni gabriele.gradoni@nottingham.ac.uk

Phillip D. Sewell phillip.sewell@nottingham.ac.uk

Ana Vukovic ana.vukovic@nottingham.acuk



Contributors

A. Agrawal
Editor

Trevor M. Benson
Editor

R.M. De La Rue
Editor

G. Wurtz
Editor

Abstract

A class of structures based on PT PT-symmetric Bragg gratings in the presence of both gain and loss is studied. The basic concepts and properties of parity and time reversal in one-dimensional structures that possess idealised material properties are given. The impact of realistic material properties on the behaviour of these devices is then investigated. Further extension to include material non-linearity is used to study an innovative all-optical
memory device.

Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Issue 204
Series Title Springer series in optical sciences
Book Title Recent trends in computational photonics
ISBN 978-3-319-55437-2
APA6 Citation Phang, S., Benson, T. M., Susanto, H., Creagh, S. C., Gradoni, G., Sewell, P. D., & Vukovic, A. (in press). Theory and numerical modelling of parity-time symmetric structures in photonics: introduction and grating structures in one dimension. In T. M. Benson, A. Agrawal, R. De La Rue, & G. Wurtz (Eds.), Recent trends in computational photonicsSpringer Nature. doi:10.1007/978-3-319-55438-9_6
DOI https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-55438-9_6
Publisher URL https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-319-55438-9_6
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf

Files

author.pdf (3.4 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;