Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Testicular function and bone in young men with severe childhood-onset obesity.

Anand-Ivell, Ravinder; Ivell, Richard; Laakso, Saila; Viljakainen, Heli; Lipsanen-Nyman, Marita; Turpeinen, Ursula; Ivaska, Kaisa K; Mäkitie, Outi

Authors

Ravinder Anand-Ivell ravinder.anand-ivell@nottingham.ac.uk

Richard Ivell richard.ivell@nottingham.ac.uk

Saila Laakso saila.laakso@helsinki.fi

Heli Viljakainen heli.viljakainen@helsinki.fi

Marita Lipsanen-Nyman Marita.Lipsanen-Nyman@hus.fi

Ursula Turpeinen Ursula.Turpeinen@hus.fi

Kaisa K Ivaska kaisa.ivaska@utu.fi

Outi Mäkitie outi.makitie@helsinki.fi



Abstract

Background: Previous studies suggest increased risk for hypoandrogenism and fractures in men with obesity. We aimed to describe the effects of severe childhood-onset obesity on the cross talk between metabolic state, testes and skeleton at late puberty.
Methods: A cohort of adolescent and young adult males with severe childhood-onset obesity (n=21, mean age 18.5 yrs) and an age-matched control group were assessed for testicular hormones and DXA-derived bone mass.
Results: Current median body mass indexes for the obese and control subjects were 37.4 kg/m2 and 22.9 kg/m2. Severe early-onset obesity manifested with lower free testosterone [median (inter-quartile range) 244 (194–332) vs. 403 (293–463) pmol/l, P=0.002]. Lower insulin-like 3 [1.02 (0.82–1.23) vs. 1.22 (1.01–1.46) ng/mL, P=0.045] and lower ratio of testosterone to LH [2.81 (1.96 – 3.98) vs. 4.10 (3.03 – 5.83) nM/IU, P=0.008] suggested disrupted Leydig cell function. Degree of current obesity correlated inversely with free testosterone (τ=-0.516, P=0.003), which in turn correlated positively with bone area at all measurement sites in males with childhood-onset obesity.
Conclusions: Severe childhood-onset obesity associates with impaired Leydig cell function in young men and lower free testosterone may contribute to impaired bone growth.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Aug 1, 2018
Journal Hormone Research in Paediatrics
Print ISSN 1663-2818
Electronic ISSN 1663-2826
Publisher Karger Publishers
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 89
Issue 6
Pages 442–449
APA6 Citation Anand-Ivell, R., Ivell, R., Laakso, S., Viljakainen, H., Lipsanen-Nyman, M., Turpeinen, U., …Mäkitie, O. (2018). Testicular function and bone in young men with severe childhood-onset obesity. Hormone Research in Paediatrics, 89(6), (442–449). doi:10.1159/000489818. ISSN 1663-2818
DOI https://doi.org/10.1159/000489818
Keywords Boys, metabolism, sex hormones, puberty, testosterone, INSL3
Publisher URL https://www.karger.com/Article/Abstract/489818
Additional Information

Composition Type:
;