Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

ArtMaps: interpreting the spatial footprints of artworks

Coughlan, Tim; Carletti, Laura; Giannachi, Gabriella; Benford, Steve; McAuley, Derek; Price, Dominic; Locatelli, Cristina; Sinker, Rebecca; Stack, John

Authors

Tim Coughlan tim.coughlan@nottingham.ac.uk

Laura Carletti laura.carletti@nottingham.ac.uk

Gabriella Giannachi g.giannachi@exeter.ac.uk

STEVE BENFORD steve.benford@nottingham.ac.uk
Dunford Chair in Computer Science

DEREK MCAULEY derek.mcauley@nottingham.ac.uk
Professor of Digital Economy

Cristina Locatelli cristina.locatelli@tate.org.uk

Rebecca Sinker rebecca.sinker@tate.org.uk

John Stack john.stack@tate.org.uk



Abstract

Creating and utilizing simple links between items and locations in map-based systems has become a mainstream component of modern computing. In this paper, we explore support for ‘art mapping’, an activity that requires consideration of more complex interpretations of spatial relationships as users engage with identifying locations of relevance to artworks. Through a user study of the ArtMaps platform, and an exploratory study with professional artists, we identify diverse interpretations of spatial meaning in relation to art. We find that art mapping highlights potential for more active engagement with art through technology, but challenges existing systems for spatial representation. Through connecting our findings with work on designing for interpretation, and on space and place in HCI, we contribute new understanding of creating engagement through the spatial interpretation of art, and define potential characteristics and uses of holistic ‘footprints’ for artworks.

Start Date Apr 18, 2015
Publication Date Apr 18, 2015
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
ISBN 978-1-4503-3145-6
APA6 Citation Coughlan, T., Carletti, L., Giannachi, G., Benford, S., McAuley, D., Price, D., …Stack, J. (2015). ArtMaps: interpreting the spatial footprints of artworks. doi:10.1145/2702123.2702281
DOI https://doi.org/10.1145/2702123.2702281
Keywords Museums, Art, GIS, Mapping, Crowdsourcing, Space, Place, Interpretation
Related Public URLs http://chi2015.acm.org/
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf

Files

artmaps-chi-accepted.pdf (2.9 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;