Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Measuring the psychosocial burden in women with low-grade abnormal cervical cytology in the TOMBOLA trial: psychometric properties of the Process and Outcome Specific Measure (POSM)

Rothnie, Kieran; Cotton, Seonaidh C.; Fielding, Shona; Gray, Nicola M.; Little, Julian; Cruickshank, Margaret E.; Walker, Leslie G.; Avis, Mark; Sharp, Linda

Authors

Kieran Rothnie

Seonaidh C. Cotton s.c.cotton@abdn.ac.uk

Shona Fielding s.fielding@abdn.ac.uk

Nicola M. Gray n.y.gray@dundee.ac.uk

Julian Little jlittle@uottawa.ca

Margaret E. Cruickshank m.e.cruickshank@abdn.ac.uk

Leslie G. Walker l.g.walker@hull.ac.uk

Mark Avis mark.avis@nottingham.ac.uk

Linda Sharp linda.sharp@ncri.ie



Abstract

Background
There is a need for an instrument to measure the psychosocial burden of receiving an abnormal cervical cytology result which can be used regardless of the clinical management women receive.
Methods
3331 women completed the POSM as part of baseline psychosocial assessment in a trial of management of low grade cervical cytological abnormalities. Factor analysis and reliability assessment of the POSM were conducted.
Results
Two factors were extracted from the POSM: Factor 1, containing items related to worry; and Factor 2 containing items relating to satisfaction with information and support received and change in the way women felt about themselves. Factor 1 had good reliability (Cronbach’s alpha 0.769), however reliability of the Factor 2 was poorer (0.482). Data collected at four subsequent time points demonstrated that the factor structure was stable over time.
Conclusion
This study demonstrates the presence and reliability of a scale measuring worries within the POSM. This analysis will inform its future use in this population and in other related contexts.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Dec 1, 2014
Journal Health and Quality of Life Outcomes
Electronic ISSN 1477-7525
Publisher Humana Press
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 12
Issue 1
Article Number 154
APA6 Citation Rothnie, K., Cotton, S. C., Fielding, S., Gray, N. M., Little, J., Cruickshank, M. E., …Sharp, L. (2014). Measuring the psychosocial burden in women with low-grade abnormal cervical cytology in the TOMBOLA trial: psychometric properties of the Process and Outcome Specific Measure (POSM). Health and Quality of Life Outcomes, 12(1), doi:10.1186/s12955-014-0154-8
DOI https://doi.org/10.1186/s12955-014-0154-8
Keywords Cervical intraepithelial neoplasia; questionnaires; factor analysis; psychosocial distress
Publisher URL http://link.springer.com/article/10.1186/s12955-014-0154-8/fulltext.html
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0

Files

art%3A10.1186%2Fs12955-014-0154-8.pdf (192 Kb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0





Downloadable Citations

;