Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Accountable artefacts: the case of the Carolan guitar

Benford, Steve; Hazzard, Adrian; Chamberlain, Alan; Glover, Kevin; Greenhalgh, Chris; Xu, Liming; Hoare, Michaela; Darzentas, Dimitrios

Authors

Steve Benford steve.benford@nottingham.ac.uk

Adrian Hazzard adrian.hazzard@nottingham.ac.uk

Alan Chamberlain alan.chamberlain@nottingham.ac.uk

Kevin Glover kevin.glover@nottingham.ac.uk

Chris Greenhalgh chris.greenhalgh@nottingham.ac.uk

Liming Xu liming.xu@nottingham.ac.uk

Michaela Hoare michaela.hoare@nottingham.ac.uk

Dimitrios Darzentas dimities.darzentas@nottingham.ac.uk



Abstract

We explore how physical artefacts can be connected to digital records of where they have been, who they have encountered and what has happened to them, and how this can enhance their meaning and utility. We describe how a travelling technology probe in the form of an augmented acoustic guitar engaged users in a design conversation as it visited homes, studios, gigs, workshops and lessons, and how this revealed the diversity and utility of its digital record. We describe how this record was captured and flexibly mapped to the physical guitar and proxy artefacts. We contribute a conceptual framework for accountable artefacts that articulates how multiple and complex mappings between physical artefacts and their digital records may be created, appropriated, shared and interrogated to deliver accounts of provenance and use as well as methodological reflections on technology probes.

Publication Date May 1, 2016
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
APA6 Citation Benford, S., Hazzard, A., Chamberlain, A., Glover, K., Greenhalgh, C., Xu, L., …Darzentas, D. (2016). Accountable artefacts: the case of the Carolan guitar
Keywords Internet of Things; Digital Record; Physical Artefact; Guitar; Music; Technology Probe; Provenance; Archiving; Augmented Reality; Tangible and Embedded Interaction
Publisher URL http://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?doid=2858036.2858306
Related Public URLs http://www.carolanguitar.com
https://chi2016.acm.org/wp/
http://carolanguitar.co...-accountable-artefacts/
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf
Additional Information ©ACM 2016. This is the author's version of the work. It is posted here for your personal use. Not for redistribution. The definitive Version of Record was published in Proceedings of the 2016 CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems, http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/2858036.2858306.

ISBN: 978-1-4503-3362-7

Files

CHI2016-Carolan-revised.3.pdf (9.6 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;