Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Fast, ultrasensitive detection of reactive oxygen species using a carbon nanotube based-electrocatalytic intracellular sensor

Rawson, Frankie J.; Hicks, Jacqueline; Dodd, Nicholas; Abate, Wondwossen; Garrett, David J.; Yip, Nga-Chi; Fejer, Gyorgy; Downard, Alison J.; Baronian, Kim H.R.; Jackson, Simon K.; Mendes, Paula M.

Authors

Frankie J. Rawson frankie.rawson@nottingham.ac.uk

Simon K. Jackson simon.jackson@plymouth.ac.uk

Paula M. Mendes P.M.mendes@bhama.c.uk

Jacqueline Hicks paxjmh@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Nicholas Dodd

Wondwossen Abate

David J. Garrett dgarrett@unimelb.edu.au

Nga-Chi Yip NCY179@student.bham.ac.uk

Gyorgy Fejer

Alison J. Downard alison.downard@canterbury.ac.nz

Kim H.R. Baronian kim.baronian@canterbury.ac.nz

Abstract

Herein, we report a highly sensitive electrocatalytic sensor-cell construct that can electrochemically communicate with the internal environment of immune cells (e.g., macrophages) via the selective monitoring of a particular reactive oxygen species (ROS), hydrogen peroxide. The sensor, which is based on vertically aligned single-walled carbon nanotubes functionalized with an osmium electrocatalyst, enabled the unprecedented detection of a local intracellular “pulse” of ROS on a short second time scale in response to bacterial endotoxin (lipopolysaccharide-LPS) stimulation. Our studies have shown that this initial pulse of ROS is dependent on NADPH oxidase (NOX) and toll like receptor 4 (TLR4). The results suggest that bacteria can induce a rapid intracellular pulse of ROS in macrophages that initiates the classical innate immune response of these cells to infection.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Oct 28, 2015
Journal ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces
Print ISSN 1944-8244
Electronic ISSN 1944-8252
Publisher American Chemical Society
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 7
Issue 42
DOI https://doi.org/10.1021/acsami.5b06493
Keywords Intracellular Sensor, Electrocatalytic Sensor, Carbon Nanotubes, Reactive Oxygen Species, Hydrogen Peroxide, Macrophage Cells
Publisher URL http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acsami.5b06493
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0

Files



Downloadable Citations