Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Living with the user: design drama for dementia care through responsive scripted experiences in the home

Coughlan, Tim; Brown, Michael; Lawson, Glyn; McAuley, Derek; Baurley, Sharon; Tsai, Allen; Koppe, Therese; Elliott, Meretta; Green, Stephen; Martin, Jennifer L.

Authors

Tim Coughlan tim.coughlan@nottingham.ac.uk

Michael Brown michael.brown@nottingham.ac.uk

DEREK MCAULEY derek.mcauley@nottingham.ac.uk
Professor of Digital Economy

Sharon Baurley sharon.baurley@rca.ac.uk

Allen Tsai allen.tsai@brunel.ac.uk

Therese Koppe therese.koppe@brunel.ac.uk

Meretta Elliott meretta.elliott@brunel.ac.uk

Stephen Green stephen.green@brunel.ac.uk

Jennifer L. Martin Jennifer.martin@nottingham.ac.uk



Abstract

Participation in forms of drama and narrative can provoke empathy and creativity in user-centred design processes. In this paper, we expand upon existing methods to explore the potential for responsive scripted experiences that are delivered through the combination of sensors and output devices placed in a home. The approach is being developed in the context of Dementia care, where the capacity for rich user participation in design activities is limited. In this case, a system can act as a proxy for a person with Dementia, allowing designers to gain experiences and insight as to what it is like to provide care for, and live with, this person. We describe the rationale behind the approach, a prototype system architecture, and our current work to explore the creation of scripted experiences for design, played out though UbiComp technologies.

Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
APA6 Citation Coughlan, T., Brown, M., Lawson, G., McAuley, D., Baurley, S., Tsai, A., …Martin, J. L. Living with the user: design drama for dementia care through responsive scripted experiences in the home
Keywords Home, Design Drama, Dementia, Ubiquitous Computing, UbiComp, Design
Publisher URL http://ubicomp.org/ubicomp2014/
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf

Files

UbiComp-SoUP-paper-camera-ready.pdf (2.6 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;