Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Impact of the 2008 economic and financial crisis on child health: a systematic review

Rajmil, Luis; Fernandez de Sanmamed, María-José; Choonara, Imti; Faresjö, Tomas; Hjern, Anders; Kozyrskyj, Anita; Lucas, Patricia; Raat, Hein; Séguin, Louise; Spencer, Nick; Taylor-Robinson, David

Authors

Luis Rajmil lrajmil@gencat.cat

María-José Fernandez de Sanmamed 14848mfs@comb.cat

Imti Choonara imti.choonara@nottingham.ac.uk

Tomas Faresjö tomas.faresjo@liu.se

Anders Hjern anders.hjern@chess.su.se

Anita Kozyrskyj kozyrsky@ualberta.ca

Patricia Lucas patricia.lucas@bristol.ac.uk

Hein Raat h.raat@erasmusmc.nl

Louise Séguin louise.seguin@umontreal.ca

Nick Spencer n.j.spencer@warwick.ac.uk

David Taylor-Robinson david.taylor-robinson@liverpool.ac.uk



Abstract

The aim of this study was to provide an overview of studies in which the impact of the 2008 economic crisis on child health was reported. Structured searches of PubMed, and ISI Web of Knowledge, were conducted. Quantitative and qualitative studies reporting health outcomes on children, published since 2007 and related to the 2008 economic crisis were included. Two reviewers independently assessed studies for inclusion. Data were synthesised as a narrative review. Five hundred and six titles and abstracts were reviewed, from which 22 studies were included. The risk of bias for quantitative studies was mixed while qualitative studies showed low risk of bias. An excess of 28,000–50,000 infant deaths in 2009 was estimated in sub-Saharan African countries, and increased infant mortality in Greece was reported. Increased price of foods was related to worsening nutrition habits in disadvantaged families worldwide. An increase in violence against children was reported in the U.S., and inequalities in health-related quality of life appeared in some countries. Most studies suggest that the economic crisis has harmed children’s health, and disproportionately affected the most vulnerable groups. There is an urgent need for further studies to monitor the child health effects of the global recession and to inform appropriate public policy responses.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Jun 23, 2014
Journal International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health
Electronic ISSN 1660-4601
Publisher MDPI
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 11
APA6 Citation Rajmil, L., Fernandez de Sanmamed, M., Choonara, I., Faresjö, T., Hjern, A., Kozyrskyj, A., …Taylor-Robinson, D. (2014). Impact of the 2008 economic and financial crisis on child health: a systematic review. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 11, https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph110606528
DOI https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph110606528
Keywords adolescent; child health; economic and financial crisis; inequalities
Publisher URL http://www.mdpi.com/1660-4601/11/6/6528
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0

Files

austerity and child health paper.pdf (326 Kb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0





Downloadable Citations

;