Skip to main content

Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Tailored scenarios: a low-cost online method to elicit perceptions on designs using real relationships

Coughlan, Tim; Brown, Michael; Lawson, Glyn; Mortier, Richard; Houghton, Robert; Goulden, Murray

Authors

Tim Coughlan tim.coughlan@nottingham.ac.uk

Michael Brown michael.brown@nottingham.ac.uk

Glyn Lawson glyn.lawson@nottingham.ac.uk

Richard Mortier richard.mortier@nottingham.ac.uk

Robert Houghton robert.houghton@nottingham.ac.uk

Murray Goulden murray.goulden@nottingham.ac.uk



Abstract

This paper describes the on-going development of a method to elicit perceptions of design ideas for social technologies, through automatically tailoring scenarios presented in online surveys using information gathered from respondents. The work has been driven by a desire to understand perceptions of various information sharing technologies for the home, across a broad population. Reviewing literature in this area from HCI and beyond, we find potential value in generating scenarios that are tailored to each respondent’s own household. We explore the results of a study using this method (n=79) and discuss initial comparisons with the results of studies using alternative methods.

Publication Date Apr 27, 2013
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Institution Citation Coughlan, T., Brown, M., Lawson, G., Mortier, R., Houghton, R., & Goulden, M. (2013). Tailored scenarios: a low-cost online method to elicit perceptions on designs using real relationships
Keywords HCI, Interaction Design, Scenarios, Evaluation Methods, Online Surveys
Publisher URL http://chi2013.acm.org/
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf

Files

tailored_scenarios_CHI_2013.pdf (367 Kb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





Downloadable Citations