Skip to main content

Research Repository

See what's under the surface

Advanced Search

Crafting interactive decoration

Benford, Steve; Koleva, Boriana; Quinn, Anthony; Thorn, Emily-Clare; Glover, Kevin; Preston, William; Hazzard, Adrian; Rennick-Egglestone, Stefan; Greenhalgh, Chris; Mortier, Richard

Authors

Steve Benford steve.benford@nottingham.ac.uk

Boriana Koleva b.koleva@nottingham.ac.uk

Anthony Quinn a.quinn@csm.arts.ac.uk

Emily-Clare Thorn pszet@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Kevin Glover ktg@cs.nott.ac.uk

William Preston william.preston@nottingham.ac.uk

Adrian Hazzard adrian.hazzard@nottingham.ac.uk

Stefan Rennick-Egglestone stefan.egglestone@nottingham.ac.uk

Chris Greenhalgh chris.greenhalgh@nottingham.ac.uk

Richard Mortier richard.mortier@cl.cam.ac.uk



Abstract

We explore the crafting of interactive decoration for everyday artefacts. This involves adorning them with decorative patterns that enhance their beauty while triggering digital interactions when scanned with cameras. These are realised using an existing augmented reality technique that embeds computer readable codes into the topological structures of hand-drawn patterns. We describe a research through design process that engaged artisans to craft a portfolio of interactive artefacts including ceramic bowls, embroidered gift cards, fabric souvenirs and an acoustic guitar. We annotate this portfolio with reflections on the crafting process, revealing how artisans addressed pattern, materials, form and function and digital mappings throughout their craft process. Further reflection on our portfolio reveals how they bridged between human and system perceptions of visual patterns and engaged in a deep embedding of digital interactions into physical materials. Our findings demonstrate the potential for interactive decoration, distil craft knowledge involved in creating aesthetic and functional decoration, highlight the need for transparent computer vision technologies, and raise wider issues for HCI's growing engagement with craft.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Aug 11, 2017
Journal ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction (TOCHI)
Print ISSN 1073-0516
Electronic ISSN 1557-7325
Publisher Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 24
Issue 4
Article Number 26
Pages 1-39
APA6 Citation Benford, S., Koleva, B., Quinn, A., Thorn, E., Glover, K., Preston, W., …Mortier, R. (2017). Crafting interactive decoration. ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction, 24(4), 1-39. https://doi.org/10.1145/3058552
DOI https://doi.org/10.1145/3058552
Keywords Craft, hybrid-craft, tangible, embedded, material, maker, DIY, fabric, wood, lifespan, sustainability, obsolescence, augmented reality, tangible and embedded interfaces, computer vision, seamful design, ambiguity
Publisher URL http://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?doid=3132166.3058552
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf
Additional Information © ACM, 2017. This is the author's version of the work. It is posted here by permission of ACM for your personal use. Not for redistribution. The definitive version was published in ACM Trans. Comput.-Hum. Interact. 24, 4, Article 26 (2017), http://doi.acm.org/10.1145/3058552.

Files

TOCHI-Craft-authorversion (45001).pdf (52.6 Mb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;