Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

Ligand influences on homoleptic Group 12 m-terphenyl complexes

Blundell, Toby J.; Hastings, Fiona R.; Gridley, Benjamin M.; Moxey, Graeme J.; Blake, Alexander J.; Lewis, William; Kays, Deborah L.

Authors

Toby J. Blundell pcxtb@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk

Fiona R. Hastings fiona_hastings@hotmail.co.uk

Benjamin M. Gridley b.m.gridley@qmul.ac.uk

Graeme J. Moxey graeme.moxey@live.com.au

Alexander J. Blake a.j.blake@nottingham.ac.uk

William Lewis william.lewis@nottingham.ac.uk

DEBORAH KAYS deborah.kays@nottingham.ac.uk
Professor of Inorganic Chemistry



Abstract

Three m-terphenyl ligands 2,6-Ar2C6H3 – [Ar = 2,6-Me2C6H3 (2,6-Xyl); 3,5-Me2C6H3 (3,5-Xyl); 2,3,4,5,6-Me5C6 (Pmp)] have been used to stabilise three series of two-coordinate Group 12 diaryl complexes; (2,6-Ar2C6H3)2M [M = Zn, Cd, Hg; Ar = 2,6-Xyl 1-3; 3,5-Xyl 4-6; Pmp 7-9], where differing steric demands on the metal centres are imparted. These are the first homoleptic d-block complexes featuring any of these ligands. Complexes 1-9 have been characterised in solution and the solid state; the analysis of structural changes produced by differences in ligand properties is reported. In particular, complexes 4-6 show smaller C–M–C bond angles and contain secondary ligand interactions that are not seen in the analogous complexes 1-3 and 7-9.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date Apr 8, 2014
Journal Dalton Transactions
Print ISSN 1477-9226
Electronic ISSN 1477-9226
Publisher Royal Society of Chemistry
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 43
APA6 Citation Blundell, T. J., Hastings, F. R., Gridley, B. M., Moxey, G. J., Blake, A. J., Lewis, W., & Kays, D. L. (2014). Ligand influences on homoleptic Group 12 m-terphenyl complexes. Dalton Transactions, 43, doi:10.1039/C4DT00647J
DOI https://doi.org/10.1039/C4DT00647J
Publisher URL http://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/articlelanding/2014/dt/c4dt00647j#!divAbstract
Copyright Statement Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingh.../end_user_agreement.pdf

Files

DLKays_Dalton_Trans_2014_Open_Access.pdf (282 Kb)
PDF

Copyright Statement
Copyright information regarding this work can be found at the following address: http://eprints.nottingham.ac.uk/end_user_agreement.pdf





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;