Skip to main content

Research Repository

Advanced Search

The Interaction of Hydrogen with the van der Waals Crystal γ-InSe

Felton, James; Blundo, Elena; Ling, Sanliang; Glover, Joseph; Kudrynskyi, Zakhar R; Makarovsky, Oleg; Kovalyuk, Zakhar D; Besley, Elena; Walker, Gavin; Polimeni, Antonio; Patané, Amalia

Authors

James Felton

Elena Blundo elena.blundo@uniroma1.ite.b.

Sanliang Ling sanliang.ling@nottingham.ac.uks.l.

Joseph Glover joseph.glover@nottingham.ac.ukj.g.

Zakhar R Kudrynskyi zakhar.kudrynskyi@nottingham.ac.ukz.r.k.

Oleg Makarovsky oleg.makarovsky@nottingham.ac.uko.m.

Zakhar D Kovalyuk zakhar.kovalyuk@gmail.com

Elena Besley elena.besley@nottingham.ac.uke.b.

Gavin Walker gavin.walker@nottingham.ac.ukg.w.

Antonio Polimeni antonio.polimeni@roma1.infn.ita.p.

Amalia Patané amalia.patane@nottingham.ac.uka.p.



Abstract

The emergence of the hydrogen economy requires development in the storage, generation and sensing of hydrogen. The indium selenide (γ-InSe) van der Waals (vdW) crystal shows promise for technologies in all three of these areas. For these applications to be realised, the fundamental interactions of InSe with hydrogen must be understood. Here, we present a comprehensive experimental and theoretical study on the interaction of γ-InSe with hydrogen. It is shown that hydrogenation of γ-InSe by a Kaufman ion source results in a marked quenching of the room temperature photoluminescence signal and a modification of the vibrational modes of γ-InSe, which are modelled by density functional theory simulations. Our experimental and theoretical studies indicate that hydrogen is incorporated into the crystal preferentially in its atomic form. This behaviour is qualitatively different from that observed in other vdW crystals, such as transition metal dichalcogenides, where molecular hydrogen is intercalated in the vdW gaps of the crystal, leading to the formation of "bubbles" for hydrogen storage.

Journal Article Type Article
Publication Date May 28, 2020
Journal Molecules
Publisher MDPI
Peer Reviewed Peer Reviewed
Volume 25
Issue 11
Article Number 2526
APA6 Citation Felton, J., Blundo, E., Ling, S., Glover, J., Kudrynskyi, Z. R., Makarovsky, O., …Patané, A. (2020). The Interaction of Hydrogen with the van der Waals Crystal γ-InSe. Molecules, 25(11), https://doi.org/10.3390/molecules25112526
DOI https://doi.org/10.3390/molecules25112526
Keywords indium selenide; intercalation; Kaufman ion source; Raman; photoluminescence; van der Waals crystals; hydrogen
Publisher URL https://www.mdpi.com/1420-3049/25/11/2526

Files

The Interaction Of Hydrogen With The Van Der Waals Crystal InSe Copy (12.9 Mb)
PDF





You might also like



Downloadable Citations

;